U21 Club Championship 2009


Under 21------ Plate.

Dr Crokes 5-25 v Tarbert 1-05 (Played in Tarbert) Round 1.

The score gives an indication of how one sided this game was. In fairness to our opponents, a rural club, they would have found it hard to field a team in this grade. We will be facing a much tougher challenge in the next round against Laune Rangers.

Round 2  --- Dr Crokes  0-10  --- Laune Rangers  2-9 (played in Killorglin on Tuesday 4th August)

Even though we were favourites to win this game, having beaten the same opposition in the Under 21 County Championship, we struggled throughout and were lucky to be a point in front at half time. Laune Rangers dictated the game again in the second half, but in this thirty minutes they converted the chances they made, scoring 2-5 to add to their half time tally of 0-5. All in all it was a poor performance by our side. Our best performers on the night were our two minors Keith O'Leary and Kieran Ward.

T.J.Cronin opened the scoring for us in the first minute but Laune Rangers had three unanswered points in the next ten minutes to go two points in front. The next fifteen minutes, scorewise, belonged to us as we sent over five points without reply. Our opponents had two points before the end of the half , leaving us 0-6 to 0-5 ahead at the interval.

The teams exchanged points in the first five minutes of the second half but Laune Rangers struck with a goal in the 39th minute to go in front by two points. The teams exchanged points before the end of the third quarter but the defining moment of the game came in the 52nd minute when our opponents after some good inter passing raced through for a goal and a five point lead. Both sides scored two points in the remaining minutes, leaving Laune Rangers worthy winners by five points.

Dr Crokes Best Player; Joint winners , Keith O'Leary and Kieran Ward;

Team and Scorers;  Alan Kelly; John Bartlett, Fionn Fitzgerald, Kieran Ward; Niall O'Connell, Barra O'Connell, Gavin Tucker; Johnny Buckley, Ian Howard; Shane O'Neill, Daithi Casey 0-5(frees), Ruairi Mangan, Denis Galvin 0-1(free), T.J.Cronin 0-1, Keith O'Leary 0-3.  Subs;  David O'Leary, Conor O'Neill.