O'Sullivan Cup 2009
2006 2007

   O'Sullivan Cup Final;   Dr Crokes  0-10  ---  Rathmore 1-8(Played in Rathmore on Sunday 22nd November)

  We got off to a good start in this final,scoring two points, without reply in the first three minutes but four unanswered points by Rathmore put them ahead at the end of the first quarter. The teams were level at half time but the defining moment of the game came in the 33rd minute when our opponents goaled  It's true that we drew level just before the end but the efforts of that come back seemed  to drain us and we allowed Rathmore have the final say, a point in injury time.

 We had two points early on but Rathmore were ahead 0-4 to 0-2 by the end of the first quarter. We had the next three points and it took a point by our opponents just before the interval to level matters, five points apiece going into the break.

 We had the first point of the second half but Rathmore struck for a crucial goal, three minutes after the interval. We went three points down, seven minutes into the second half but responded gamely in the next twenty minutes. We scored three points in this period to draw level as we went into injury time. As has happened us in a few finals this year, we allowed the opposition to have the last say, a match winning point.

 Our thanks to all the players and mentors, John O'Shea, Eamon Fitzgerald and Mike Neeson for the great work they put in this year. We reached three finals, won one and lost two by the minimum margin.

  Dr Crokes Best Player;  Shane Myers.

 Team and Scorers;  David Neeson; Kieran Ward, Finian Moran, John Bartlett; Niall O'Connell, Brian O'Donoghue, Kevin Smyth; Kieran Brosnan, Conor O'Neill; Shane O'Neill 0-3, Shane Kavanagh, Shane Myers 0-4; Denis Galvin 0-1(free), Ruairi Mangan 0-1, T.J.Cronin.  Subs;  Tommy Ryan, Chris Egan, Pa Moloney, Keith O'Leary 0-1, Donal Cronin.

   Semi-Final ---- Dr Crokes  1-8  --- Glenflesk  1-7(Played in Fitzgerald Stadium)

  Glenflesk had the first score of the game, a goal, but we were well on top for most of the first half and led 1-6 to 1-3 at the interval.

 The third quarter was nip and tuck but we outscored the opposition, two points to nil. It looked at this stage that we would go on for a comfortable win. Glenflesk however dominated the last fifteen minutes and scored four unanswered points, to reduce the deficit to a point. Our defence did not yield an inch in the closing stages, denying our opponents any further scores and hung in their for victory.

 Dr Crokes Best Player;  Gavin Tucker.

  Team and Scorers;  David Neeson; Conor O'Neill, Finian Moran, John Bartlett; Keith McMahon, Brian O'Donoghue, Kevin Smyth; Gavin Tucker 0-3, Kieran Brosnan; Shane O'Neill 1-0, T. J.Cronin 0-1, Donal Cronin; Denis Galvin 0-2(0-1free), Ruairi Mangan 0-1, Keith O'Leary.  Subs;  Niall O'Connell 0-1, Shane Kavanagh, P.J.Lawlor.

                    Quarter  Final.

       Dr Crokes  2-14 ----- Scartaglin  2-5(Played in Scartaglin on August 18th)

  Even though we had a nine point win in this game, it was not a vintage performance. We dominated the midfield area, but in the first half this did not translate into scores. The scores did come in the second half, our score of 1-10 putting us well clear at the end. Both sides scored two goals. Our opponents came from the penalty spot in the first five minutes of the game, both expertly taken and giving our goalkeeper David Neeson no chance. We had a major in each half, one from Kieran Brosnan and the other by David O'Leary. Both were executed with speed and accuracy and were as good as any scored this year.

 Our opponents went into an early lead with two goals in the first five minutes. We got on top for the rest of the half but many chances were missed. We did however edge in front before the half time whistle.

 Scores came for us quick and fast in the second half. It must be said however that Scartaglin lost their influential midfielder through injury and this did not help their cause. Our score of 1-10 in this thirty minutes must have pleased our mentors. This qualifies us now for the semi final of a competition we have often won in the past.

  Dr Crokes Best Player;   Kieran Brosnan.

 Team;  David Neeson; Keith McMahon, Finian Moran, John Bartlett; Kieran Ward, Kevin Landers, P J Lawlor; Kieran Brosnan, Barra O'Connell; Gavin Tucker, Andrew Kenneally, Shane Kavanagh; Denis Galvin, Ruairi Mangan, David O'Leary (capt). Subs;  Kevin Smyth, Donal Cronin, James Barry, Brian O'Donoghue.