Minor East Kerry Championship 2009




Dr. Crokes  1-6  Kilcummin 0-11

(Sat. Nov. 28 2pm, Fitzgerald Stadium)

Even though we gave a very heartning display in this final, we unfortunately fell short in the end by two points.  We had  chances, from frees, of extending our one point lead to three before the end of the third quarter. One would have to say, however, that Kilcummin deserved their win because of their dominance in the last quarter. They also had eleven scores to our seven.

There was very little excitement in the first half. Both sides managed just three points and had only a point each from play.

The second half was contested at championship pace. Even though there were many good movements by both sides in the third quarter, the teams only added a point each to their half time total. Our opponents got on top in the first ten minutes of the third quarter and four unanswered points put them that amount in front. Our lads however did not throw in the towel. They responded with a Chris Brady goal in the 56th minute to leave just a point between the sides. Kilcummin had three points to our one in the remaining minutes of normal time to go three points in front. A great shot for the equaliser by Keith O'Leary in injury time went over the bar via the cross bar. This gave our opponents victory by two points and we congratulate them on their win.

Our thanks to all our panel for giving their all right through the year. They didn't win any trophies but they can be proud of their great efforts, culminating in their qualification for two finals. Our mentors, Mike Buckley, Martin Burns, Matthew Courtney and Jim Connelly Did trojan work all year and improved this team enormously.

James Barry had a great game in goal. Best in defence were Kieran Ward, Sean Coppinger and Mark Egan. For most of the game Chris Brady and Conor O'Neill gave us a good supply of ball from midfield. In attack we were best served by Keith O'Leary, Timmy O'Donoghue and Brian O'Shea.

Dr Crokes Best Player;  Chris Brady.

Team and Scorers;  James Barry; Mark Egan, P J Lawlor, Sean Coppinger; Killian Fitzgerald, Kieran Ward, Gordon Buckley; Conor O'Neill, Chris Brady 1-1; Timmy O'Donoghue, Robert Watson, Alex O'Sullivan 0-1(free); Cian O'Neill, Keith O'Leary 0-2, Brian O'Shea 0-2(0-1free).  Subs;  Joseph Keogh, Chris Lawlor, Senan Lavery .


Semi Final

Dr Crokes 2-10        Legion 1-12 (Lewis Rd Sat Nov 14th)

A good last quarter in a very close encounter got us over the finishing line in front by a point. Legion led by three points midway through the second half  but a well struck goal from a penalty, followed by three points, put us a goal in front. Our opponents tried hard for equality in the last five minutes, but could only manage two points, leaving us one point winners at the end.

The teams exchanged points on three occasions in the first quarter. Legion hit a purple patch in the next ten minutes, scoring 1-3 to our 0-1 for a five point lead. We finished the half the better with three unanswered points to go in at the interval 1-6 to 0-7 behind.

The teams exchanged points in the first two minutes of the second half but we struck for a goal by Cian O'Neill in the 35th minute to lead by a point. Our opponents had three points without reply in the next five minutes to go back in front by two points. In the 45th minute Chris Brady's well taken penalty restored the  lead for us and we followed this with two more points to go into a three point lead with five minutes to go. Legion tried hard for parity but the best they could manage were  two points. This gave us victory by the minimum margin and a final place against Kilcummin.

This was a fine all round team performance. James Barry was sound in goal. Best in defence were Kieran Ward, P.J.Lawlor and Sean Coppinger. Even Though they gave away a height advantage at midfield, Chris Brady and Conor O'Neill gave us a match winning supply. Best up front were Cian O'Neill, Keith O'Leary and Brian O'Shea.

Dr Crokes Best Player;  Cian O'Neill.

Team and Scorers;   James Barry; Joseph Keogh, P.J.Lawlor, Mark Egan; Gordon Buckley, Kieran Ward, Sean Coppinger; Chris Brady 1-1(1-0pen), Conor O'Neill 0-1; Timmy O'Donoghue, Robert Watson 0-1(free), Alex O'Sullivan; Cian O'Neill 1-3, Keith O'Leary, Brian O'Shea 0-4(0-3frees).  subs;  Chris Lawlor, Neily McEntaggart.