Minor County Championship 2009




Minor County Shield--- Semi Final ----- Dr Crokes  1-6 -- Legion  2-6.(Played in Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday 9th August at 6-30.)

In this very sporting game, played in atrocious weather, Legion got revenge for their defeat to us in the East Kerry League. They scored a goal in the last minute to win by that margin, in a game that could have gone either way. They probably deserved to win as in addition to the winning goal, they also scored two points, which turned our two point lead into a goal win for them.

The teams exchanged points in the first ten minutes but our opponents had the best of the remaining first quarter, scoring 1-1 for a four point lead. We got well on top in the second quarter and three unanswered points left us just one point behind at the interval, 1-2 to 0-4.

The teams exchanged points in the first three minutes of the second half. A minute later the Legion had a point to go two points in front. A great Alex O'Sullivan goal put us in front for the first time in the game. Robert Watson added a point to our tally a few minutes later to put us two points in front. This however was our last score of the game. Both sides had good chances in the fourth quarter but failed to score for ten minutes. Legion's last five minute onslaught proved decisive as they broke through for 1-2 and a one goal victory.

James Barry did well in goal. Best in defence were Mark Egan, Killian Fitzgerald and Kieran Ward. Conor O'Neill and Timmy O'Donoghue more than held their own at midfield. Chris Brady, Alex O'Sullivan and Keith O'Leary showed up well in attack.

We wish Sean Coppinger a speedy recovery from an injury suffered in the first few minutes of the game.

Dr Crokes Best Player;  Killian Fitzgerald.

Team and Scorers;  James Barry; Mark Egan, Sean Coppinger, Joseph Keogh; Killian Fitzgerald, Kieran Ward, Gordon Buckley; Conor O'Neill, Timmy O'Donoghue 0-1; Alex O'Sullivan 1-2(0-2frees), Brian O'Shea, Chris Brady 0-1; Robert Watson 0-1, Keith O'Leary 0-1, Cian O'Neill.   Subs;  Neily McEntaggart, Dylan O'Neill.

 Dr Crokes  1-7  --------Legion  4-8 (Played in Lewis Road on Tues 23rd June)

Despite our ten point defeat this was far from a one sided game. There is no doubt but that the Legion were much the better team but goals in the first minute and last minute by our opponents were contributory to the big margin between the sides. They were also dominant on the score board between the 10th and the 26th minute even though we enjoyed an amount of possession. During this period they outscored us 1-5 to nil and went in at half time 2-6 to 0-4 in front. We won the possession stakes in the second half but lost on the scoreboard 2-2 to 1-3 to a more clinical finishing opposition.

Our neighbours had a goal in the first minute. This was followed by two points by us in the next four minutes. The teams exchanged points in the next three minutes. Then came Legion's golden quarter hour when they had 1-5 without reply. We had a point on the stroke of half time to leave us 2-6 to 0-4 in arrears at the interval.

Kieran Ward opened the scoring at the start of the second half with a point in the first minute. Legion replied with a point a minute later. The teams exchanged points in the next five minutes. Even though we enjoyed an amount of possession in the next ten minutes we failed to score until we broke through for a goal in the 47th minute. This reduced the deficit to five points. Our opponents however broke through for a goal three minutes later to more or less end the game as a contest. We had a point in the 56th minute but a Legion goal just before the end gave them a ten point winning margin.

Best in defence were Kieran Ward, Killian Fitzgerald and P.J.Lawlor. Chris Lawlor and Conor O'Neill ensured us of an amount of possession at midfield. Keith O'Leary, Chris Brady and Brian O'Shea did best in attack.

Team and Scorers;  James Barry; Mark Egan, P.J.Lawlor, Sean Coppinger. Killian Fitzgerald 0-1, Kieran Ward 0-1, Gordon Buckley; Conor O'Neill 0-1, Chris Lawlor 0-1; Chris Brady 0-3(frees), Robert Watson, Keith O'Leary; Alex O'Sullivan, Brian O'Shea, Cian O'Neill.  Subs;  Senan Lavery, Joseph Keogh, Neily McEntaggart, Conor McGill 1-0.